Historic Chattahoochee Commission.
search»  Site Search link. site index»  Site Index link. home»  Link to home page.
HCC graphic. About the HCC » General Information HCC graphic.

Chattahoochee Trace counties map.

The Chattahoochee Trace is an eighteen county region in Alabama and Georgia promoted by the Historic Chattahoochee Commission (HCC). Organized in 1970, the HCC is charged with the responsibility of promoting tourism and historic preservation throughout this river corridor. In 1978 the Georgia General Assembly and the Alabama Legislature passed identical legislation to establish an interstate compact for the operation of the Commission. Final approval of the compact came in October of that year when the same bill cleared the U.S. Congress and President Carter signed it into law. Alabama counties include Barbour, Chambers, Dale, Henry, Houston, Lee, and Russell; Georgia counties include Chattahoochee, Clay, Decatur, Early, Harris, Muscogee, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole, Stewart, and Troup.

Presently the Commission is funded by both Alabama and Georgia. The HCC is the first and only tourism/preservation agency in the nation with official authority to cross state lines to pursue goals common to all counties involved.

Thank you for visiting our site. Please feel free to request information or send us , and don't forget to sign our Guestbook.

Next: Tourism Development

 «Tours»   «Calendar»   «Folklife Project»   «Lodging/Food»   «Resources»   «Contact/About»   «Store»   «Home»   «Text Version» 
Subsection:   [Main]  [General Information]  [Tourism Development]  [Preservation Efforts]  [Recreational Development]  [Educational Endeavors